Welcome to the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

The department is home to a community of researchers, students and faculty who strive to improve the treatment of medical disorders through a better understanding of the pharmacology of agents and by developing safer and more effective drugs.  Currently ranked thirteenth among National Institutes of Health-funded pharmacology and toxicology programs in the U.S., the department has educated alumni who have gone on to distinguished careers in government, academia and the private sector as researchers, educators and consultants. The work our students do at VCU and beyond has the potential to improve the health and well-being of people all over the world.

New milestones for Pharmacology and Toxicology Department

Long-running training grant that propelled department to 310 graduates is renewed. . . read

Congratulations Dr. Banks!! VCU will honor distinguished faculty

Matthew L. Banks, Pharm.D., Ph.D., School of Medicine, will receive the outstanding early career faculty award from President Rao at the annual VCU Convocation on Tuesday, August 23rd, 2016.

An assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Banks joined VCU in 2010. He teaches in the university’s M.D./Ph.D. program, pharmacology and toxicology graduate program and in the School of Pharmacy.

His research on addiction is currently funded through the NIH National Institute of Drug Abuse by seven grants totaling nearly $2 million. He has published 66 peer-reviewed publications and co-authored five book chapters.

Banks mentors two postdoctoral fellows and has served on five graduate student advisory committees. He also supervises two to three research technicians a year, is an ad-hoc peer reviewer for more than a dozen journals and has served as a judge for state and local science fairs.

The Outstanding Early Career Faculty Award recognizes a full-time tenured or tenure track faculty member (rank of associate professor and lower) who has been in rank at the university or at another institution for a total of five years or less, and has achieved superior accomplishment consistent with the Quest for Distinction and in the areas of teaching, research and scholarship, and service. This new award was established in 2016.

Congratulations to our Annual Award Winners

The  annual award celebration was held at Willow Oaks Country Club on Saturday, July 30th at 7:30 pm.   The Anthony Ambrose Award for the best third year student was presented to Lesley Schurman; the Lauren A. Woods award for research excellence among doctoral students was awarded to Travis Grim (first place) and Catherine Bell (second place); the Postdoctoral Scholar award was presented to Dr. Jason Paris; the Extraordinary Staff award was presented to Brenda Caine and Laura Johnson and the Professor of the Year was presented to Dr. Kate Nicholson from the PharmTox Student Organization.

Dr. PinLan Li was presented with the Research Achievement Award for the highest combined number of papers published and the highest average impact factor for 2016. Congratulations to everyone!!

“Uncovering the biologic role of the nephron renal angiotensin system”

Donald E. Kohan, M.D., Ph.D.
DRF Endowed Chain in Nephrology
Professor of Medicine and Pharmaceutical Chemistry
Division of Nephrology
University of Utah Health Sciences Center
Salt Lake City, UT  84132