PharmTox Faculty honored at the VCU School of Medicine 17th Annual Faculty Award

pharmtox faculty honored at vcu school of medicine The Distinguished Mentor Award recognizes significant contributions to the career development of others, such as through mentorship to fellow faculty members, junior faculty, residents, fellows, graduate students, post-docs and medical students, or through other mentoring relationships.
Hamid I. Akbarali, Ph.D., professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, was this year’s recipient.
“Our Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology is world-renowned,” Dean Strauss said. “Dr. Akbarali is one of the reasons why we enjoy this outstanding reputation. He is defined by his incredible accessibility, his commitment and caring for the students that he interacts with. It is a pleasure for me to recognize him for his outstanding service to our scientific community.”
Dr. Steve Negus received the Outstanding Departmental Teacher Award in Health Sciences Education
Dr Edward Ishac received the Best Teacher in the course and clerkship award for Principles of Autonomics and Pharmacology Course Class of 2018 Scientific Foundations of Medicine Courses