Dr. Kurt Hauser received SNIP’s highest honor

Kurt F. Hauser, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and toxicology, accepted the Wybran Award from the Society on NeuroImmune Pharmacology at its 19th Scientific Conference on April 6 in San Juan, Puerto Rico.

The Wybran Award is the highest honor bestowed by SNIP in recognition of the very best scientific contributions that have resulted in the preservation and expansion of the field of neuroimmune pharmacology.

The award carries the name of Joe Wybran, a renowned scientist whose work integrated the fields of neuroimmunology, drugs of abuse and immunity to infection. He was killed in 1989, and afterward the award was created to memorialize his scientific prestige in the field and serve as a remembrance of his contributions that underpin SNIP.